Casa de mi Padre


Product Details4 Stars

I’m going to have to go out on a limb here and give Casa de mi Padre 4 stars, as it was a very funny film, where I found myself laughing aloud several times, and I think I found it a more enjoyable movie experience than Amazing Spider-Man which really has me considering not going to the theatres any more.  Home viewing may be the only way for me from now on.  No astronomical concession prices; no lineups; I always get the best seat in the house….since it’s my house; and it’s nice and quiet with no texting or nattering back and forth going on to distract me; and of course bonus features, pause and rewind options…

I saw the preview for Casa de mi Padre on something I watched a while back, and was instantly drawn to this movie.  First, let me say that I am not a big Will Ferrell fan.  I have nothing against his work, I just haven’t seen a lot of it, so I’m not one of those people who have to rush out and see everything he does.  I never really saw him on Saturday Night Live; my SNL watching days were back with Carvey, Lovtiz and Hartman, and kind of faded out once Sandler, Schneider, Spade and Farley came in.  Now, I was intrigued when I saw that this movie was entirely in Spanish.  I don’t speak Spanish.  Lo qué hablan español…..I got that from Babel Fish.  As I was saying, I don’t speak Spanish, so I really don’t know if what Ferrell was speaking was accurate or not, but it sounded pretty good to me.  Putting an established actor in a foreign language film struck me as potentially comic genius.

The story focuses on Armando Alvarez, a rancher, working his father’s herd during tight economic times, thrown into the middle of a drug war when his brother Raul returns from America with his beautiful fiancée, the niece of another drug lord, “The Onza”.  The story is pretty thin, and 100% predictable, but that’s what you have to love about this type of movie.  The filmmakers captured the “budget” look and feel of telenovelas and Mexican westerns perfectly.  Continuity is thrown out the window as Armando bends to pickup a stray brown calf, and stands up on a different camera angle holding an obviously stuffed black calf.  Armando and his friends are driving down the road and a van passes by them, in clearly stock footage, only to appear again in another scene where the trio are driving.  When their truck stops, they get out on a dirt road, not even slightly resembling the highway of the stock footage.  One scene of the truck arriving in town was hilariously and brilliantly done with models and what looked like “Hot Wheels” cars.  Half the outdoor scenes were shot on location, but the others are on amazing sets that look like they were pulled from the basements of Bonanza or Gilligan’s Island.  The film is loaded with mariachi-tinged musical interludes that just add to the fun. Armando and his amigo’s “Yo No Se” (“I Don’t Know”), complete with bongos, and horns was a brilliant piece. Soap opera style acting, shoot outs, and a uniquely shot sex scene….yes they use a body double…

I think it is safe to assume that everyone connected to the movie had a lot of fun.  The supporting cast is made of Mexicans actors Diego Luna, Efren Ramirez (Napoleon Dynamite), Adrian Martinez and the late Pedro Armendáriz Jr.  The love interest Sonia, is played by up and coming actress Genesis Rodriguez who was also in Man on a Ledge and HBO’s Entourage.  Knowing that the movie was to be equal parts parody and homage, gave the cast a lot of freedom to ham it up, and bring out the best in their comedic performances.

If you are looking for a few good laughs, I urge you to watch Casa de mi Padre, as if you are open minded to your comedy, it will not disappoint. Any movie with a clearly animatronic white jaguar spirit guide is aces in my books.

Posted on 12-07-15, in 4 Star, Movie Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

