Christmas


I don’t like Christmas.  I haven’t for many years.  I enjoy decorating for the single day of Hallowe’en much more I do for the entire Christmas season.  I don’t like the stress, the frustrations, the loneliness, and at work I have to listen to Christmas music non-stop for three weeks.  I realize that I am a bitter old Scrooge-type Grinch.  There is one thing I do look forward to though; the annual Doctor Who Christmas special. So, as we are about 24 hours away from this year’s special I’m going to rank the previous shows, and even though it aired in April 2005, I’m going to include The Unquiet Dead out of fairness so that each of the modern era Doctors has at least one Christmas show, making this year the ninth Christmas episode.

#8 The Doctor, The Widow and The Wardrobe (December 25th, 2011)

I enjoyed this one, but something has to come in last.  The Doctor seemed to be acting a little too silly sometimes.

#7 Christmas Carol (December 25th, 2010)

This was the first Matt Smith Christmas episode, and much better than his first.  Time travel was a big part of this one, and that made it fun.  Also, since I wasn’t the biggest fan of Amy and Rory, it was nice that this special was really very “Doctor-centric” and they were more off to the side in this story.  The beautiful singing of Katherine Jenkins certainly didn’t hurt either.

#6 The End of Time (December 25th, 2009)

This was an excellent two-parter (with part two airing on New Year’s Day, January 1st, 2010), but a little bit of a downer as a Christmas special as we know we’re losing the Doctor as played by David Tennant, and coming to a close of the Russell T. Davies era as well.  There was lots of action and some great guest appearances (including John Simm, Bernard Cribbins, and Timothy Dalton) as we see the Doctor say goodbye to his friends; but really not a lot of “Christmas” in this year’s special.  I ranked this one a little higher than Christmas Carol mainly due to its importance to the series.

#5 The Next Doctor (December 25th, 2008)

This was a wonderful episode that gave us a lot of great moments, sci-fi, humour, and heart.  Perhaps a giant cyberman walking through London was a little far fetched, but it was Christmas, so why not?

#4 The Unquiet Dead (April 19th, 2005)

Charles Dickens meeting ghosts on Christmas Eve while giving a reading of A Christmas Carol?  Fantastic!  Everything that you want from Doctor Who was here, famous historical figures, ghosts, danger and peril for two worlds, sacrifice and even zombies.

#3 Voyage of the Damned (December 25th, 2007)

The Doctor crashes into the Titanic?  In space?  On Christmas?  Oh yes!  Brilliant, Alons y, Alonso.  Again, great humour in this one, and fantastic guest stars with Kylie Minogue and Clive Swift, as well, if you count it one Peter Davison.  I’ve embedded the trailers for each episode, and anything else I’ve felt like sharing I’ve included as a link, but in this case I’ll embed again.  The 2008 Children In Need special Time Crash, just beautiful, and I was so glad that it was included as a special feature on the DVD release that season.

#2 The Runaway Bride (December 25th, 2006)

Our first meeting with Donna Noble, and some of my favourite scenes.  The TARDIS flying through traffic chasing a cab driven by a robot Santa, and the scene at the end where the Empress of the Racnoss mistakenly calls the Doctor a Martian for the last time.  “Oh but I’m not from Mars…“, the hairs on the back of my neck stand up every time I hear him say “Gallifrey“.

#1 The Christmas Invasion (December 25th, 2005)

Simply perfect.  The introduction of the newly regenerated Doctor, and plenty of goosebump, back of my neck hair moments; not because they’re scary, oh no, but because the emotion they deliver is so fantastic.  When the TARDIS doors open on the Sycorax ship, when alien tongues are being properly translated again, the Doctor (THE Doctor, for this generation, in my opinion) has arrived.

Now tomorrow, I look forward to The Snowmen, and it looks like it could be the scariest Christmas episode yet.  The Christmas Invasion was all it took to sell me on David Tennant, perhaps The Snowmen will finally put Matt Smith in the same league for me.  I can’t wait as we get Silurians, Sontarans, humans, killer snowmen, and the Doctor.  Merry Christmas.

Agree?  Disagree?  Comments?  Please add them!  And follow me on Twitter https://twitter.com/G_Switzer

Posted on 12-12-24, in Doctor Who and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

