Movies I may want to see this summer…


Summer is almost here, and that means summer movies.  Yes, that time when studios put out their best “popcorn” films for us to enjoy.  This is by no means a definitive list of what is coming out this year, but it is a list of the few that I’m personally interested in seeing.

Iron Man 3

I liked the first two (yes, I even enjoyed the second one), so being the giant comic book nerd I am, I want to see it.  How this will impact the new Marvel movies, and “Phase Two”, we probably won’t know until after the credits of Iron Man 3, or until after the credits of Thor 2…

In theatres May 3rd, 2013

Star Trek: Into Darkness

Hopefully less lens flare, but I did enjoy the J.J. Abrams “alternate universe” reboot.  Plus, I’m curious to see who Benedict Cumberbatch will be.  Khan?  Possibly.  But I’m thinking Gary Mitchell from the redone Star Trek TOS pilot.  (Remember the network didn’t like the first pilot “The Cage” with Captain Pike and they redid it to be less sci-fi and more space western?)  Keep in mind I’ve read very little about the new movie, because I don’t want things ruined, but here’s my “guess” written down.

In theatres May 17th, 2013

Now You See Me

If you read my last review, you know I do love magic.  I also love a good heist movie.  Add them together and it has serious potential to be a lot of fun.  This one has an incredibly all-star cast, including Jesse Eisenberg (meh), Isla Fisher (don’t know her), Woody Harrelson (cool), Mark Ruffalo (interesting), Morgan Freeman (nice touch), Michael Caine (excellent!), and Mélanie Laurent (one of my personal favourite actresses).  Hopefully the large cast doesn’t prove the “too many cooks spoil the broth” axiom true.

In theatres May 31st, 2013

Man of Steel

I still haven’t seen the last Batman movie, and I hated Superman Returns (the only watchable part was where Superman “returned” and saved the plane and space shuttle), but I do like Superman.  Will Zack Snyder handle Superman correctly?  Sucker Punch partially lived up to its name, it sucked.  Despite that, I’m curious.  I do want to believe a man can fly, and I do want to see the true strength and power of the Man of Steel brought to the screen.  Hopefully this will do it, but I don’t just want to see his physical strengths, I want to see his moral strengths too.  I want to see Clark Kent, midwestern farmboy, last son of Krypton.  And would it hurt anyone to brighten it up a bit?  Come on!  Big Blue looks a little too dark for the hope that his character is supposed to represent, this ISN’T Batman!  Also, they need the John Williams theme song.  That makes it Superman.

In theatres June 14th, 2013

The Lone Ranger

I’m not really a Johnny Depp fan, I can take him or leave him.  I’ve seen parts of the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie but haven’t gotten around to ever rewatching the whole thing, and clearly haven’t seen any of he sequels.  When I heard he was starring as Tonto in the new Lone Ranger film, I was a little worried.  Depp is definitely the “big name” star but I hope that doesn’t mean the film will focus more on him than Armie Hammer as the Ranger.  I do love westerns, and the trailer makes me want to see it.

In theatres July 5th, 2013

Red 2

I loved the first one, and think the cast of characters (both returning and new) will bring another hit.  The first film was just amazingly fun.

In theatres July 19th, 2013

The Wolverine

Another comic book movie, because Hollywood is out of ideas, but I’ll see this one too.  Hugh Jackman will be Wolverine forever.

In theatres July 26th

Kick Ass 2

Another sequel to a movie I really enjoyed.  One day I might even get around to reading some of the Kick Ass comic books, but until then, the movies will have to do.  I’m just glad they’ve made a second one.  I wonder if it was shot in “New York” just as the first one was.  (It actually wasn’t New York, there were a lot of obvious scenes that showed it was Toronto, and even some of Hamilton.)

In theatres August 16th

Thor: The Dark World

Thor was my favourite of the Marvel movies.  I liked it more than Iron Man, and definitely more than Avengers.  I’m super excited to see this one.  Plus it has the ninth Doctor, Christopher Eccleston.  Alright, you got me, this one isn’t exactly a summer release, but still I wanted to include it because I liked the original so much.

In theatres November 8th, 2013

The trailers I added also includes Grace Randolph’s review of the trailer.  Grace reviews films at Beyond the Trailer as well as writes the comic Supurbia for BOOM! Studios.  I really like her stuff, her opinions and the way she delivers her reviews.  Check her out (and put in a good word for me, and maybe I’ll finally have a minor celebrity friend!)

There you go, those are the ones that caught my eye for the upcoming season.  How many I’ll actually see in theatres is questionable.  Maybe one or two.  I can wait for most of them to come to DVD.

Posted on 13-04-29, in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. gutenbergsson

    I like every choice on this list. Don’t understand the dislike people have for Iron Man Two. Can’t wait for “Now you see me.” Also a magic fan.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Review – Now You See Me | theswitz

Leave a Reply

