Oscar talk


oscar


So the Oscars are awarded on March 2nd this year, which actually may work out pretty well for me.  Last year, I got an incredible 21 of 24 awards right, and that was with only seeing one of the Best Picture nominees (I saw Argo, it won…).  This year, I haven’t seen any of them, but Captain Phillips is already out on DVD; Dallas Buyers Club comes out next week (February 4th); Gravity and Nebraska both come out February 25th; 12 Years a Slave, American Hustle, and The Wolf of Wall Street all come out in March which is after the awards, and I don’t know of a release date for Philomena or Her yet.  So there’s a pretty good chance I can catch up a bit this year.


Nebraska looks really good to me, so I’ll probably give that a spin before the awards and people have been saying good things about Dallas Buyers Club and Matthew McConaughey so I’ll probably catch that this weekend.  There are some perks to being me; running a video store, I do get to watch next week’s movies on the weekend if my orders actually show up on time.


The one I’m most interested in of course is Her, which a friend of mine said was excellent.  Of the March releases I’m really only interested in American Hustle, but now that I’ve seen the trailer for Philomena that really looks good also.  It likely won’t win anything, but it still looks really good.  I like Steve Coogan (who also co-wrote the film) and Judi Dench usually delivers too, so this one’s high on my “to watch” list now.


I do like to watch movies, and I like to talk about them.  These days I watch them alone, but every once in a while I would like to watch a movie with someone and actually be able to discuss what had just transpired on the screen (silver or television).  I had mentioned that I’m really interested in seeing Her, but I really don’t want to go to a theatre and see that one alone.  Sitting by myself watching a movie about a lonely man who falls in love with his Operating System may just hit a little too close to home when I immediately check my cell phone when the film is over and then come home to type up a review.  Yup, for this lonely guy that one’s a renter.


Got some Oscar picks or opinions? Share them below!

Posted on 14-01-30, in General, Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

