What do I want to see this year?



I was discussing with a friend tonight, how there seemed to be a movie every month that she wanted to see.  Of course we’re talking theatrically, and it got me thinking about what I myself would be interested in seeing this year.  Skimming the internet I’ve found a site that lists what’s expected to come out in the upcoming months and here’s what I’ve come up with:

April

  • Nothing.  While the month is filled with sequels like Furious 7 and Paul Blart Mall Cop 2, I haven’t seen any of those previous movies.  The only ones that looks interesting to me are Ex Machina, and Kill Me Three Times.  But it also looks like I’ll be saving my movie dollars and checking them out when they hit video.  Kill Me Three Times likely won’t play in my area, and while Ex Machina intrigues me I’ll pass for now.

May

  • Even though I was a little disappointed by the first one, I will go see Avengers: Age of Ultron in theatres.  I am still a sucker for the super hero movies, but we all know the one I’m waiting for it Doctor Strange next year.
  • Mad Max: Fury Road looks pretty good too, and I may be able to find a few friends who want to see it.  Though these days on those rare occasions that I do go to the theatre, I usually go alone.
  • Spy looks like it could be a lot of fun too, but it screams “rental” all over it to me.  It does look a little less formulaic than most of Melissa McCarthy’s comedies, and I love Jason Statham movies.

June

  • Jurassic World This is one that should probably be seen on the big screen.  I watched the first Transformers movie at home, on DVD and was rather unimpressed by the effects.  I don’t want to repeat that disappointment.
  • Transporter Refueled.  A reboot of the Transporter franchise without Jason Statham and apparently without Luc Besson.  Repeat after me: “rental”.
  • Ted 2.  I had no interest in seeing Ted, so this one’s a big pass.

July

  • As the Marvel Cinematic Universe continues to expand, we get a double dose this summer with  Ant-Man following up on the events of Avengers 2.  Ant-Man is an unusual super hero, and might not have the biggest fan base, but they took a risk on Guardians of the Galaxy last year that paid off huge.  With Michael Douglas and Paul Rudd, the film will offer credible acting and the opportunity for a lot of humour.  Look for the effects to be incredible too.
  • Mr. Holmes.  You know I’m dying to see this one!  Ian McKellan as an aged Sherlock Holmes reminiscing and revisiting his “last” case.  A little surprising, but this is really the “blockbuster” that I want to see most this year.
  • Pan looks interesting and I’ll catch it on video
  • Terminator: Genysis is spelled wrong (and I stopped after T2)
  • I haven’t seen any of the Mission: Impossible films

August

  • Fantastic Four is a reboot but still not done by the MCU.  I think that says home video to me, after I shelled out $20 to be disappointed by Fox’s previous two FF ventures.  Though, if I hear good things from the right people, I may reconsider.
  • Masterminds could have potential to be funny, but again, I’ll watch that alone at home.  I don’t like watching comedies in the theatres, because I usually end up sitting by people who laugh at the wrong parts.
  • I saw the Man From U.N.C.L.E. trailer and thought that the latest Guy Ritchie film looked pretty good, and if I were a more social person, I’d maybe go to theatres to see it, but again it’s probably a rental.  Remember, I do get my movie rentals for free from work, so it’s not just that I don’t like to see films with others.  Yes, I’m thinking of those kids who kicked my seat and barely shut up during Kingsman on Sunday.  Man From U.N.C.L.E. would probably be right up their alley.


That’s about it for the summer, of course if we wait until November I may consider Spectre, which would be the first Bond film I’ve seen in theatres since Tomorrow Never Dies; and in December, there’s a little film coming out that I don’t know if people have heard about: Star Wars VII.

Posted on 15-03-18, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

