Deadpool – ★ ★ ★ ★ ½ Theatrical Review


Deadpool4.5 Stars


Are you freaking kidding me?  I went and saw Deadpool in theatres back in February and somehow couldn’t find time to put up a review?  That was like five months ago!  Almost half a year!  Wow.  I kinda suck.  Yes you do.  And I really liked this one too.  Well if you really liked it, do up a review, that’s what you’re trying to do here right?  Man, it’s been a really long time since I watched this, I may just have to watch it again before I can give my opinions.  Well, you have the Blu Ray sitting over there on the shelf that you bought from Canada’s largest independent video-music store for a low used price…  Okay, I’m going to have to watch this again quickly (you can’t watch it quickly, it’s 1 hr 48 mins long and you have no powers that enable you to make that hour forty-eight go any faster than an hour and forty-eight minutes…) and then do a review….do you hear something breaking the 4th wall of my blog? 


Wow, there sure are a lot of bonus features on the Blu Ray for Deadpool!  I always watch the bonus features whenever I watch a DVD (or Blu Ray), but I don’t think I’ve ever watched a director’s commentary.  I don’t like people in the audience talking over the movie when I’m watching, why would I want the director?  Well, maybe some directors.  Okay, on to my review.  Boy did I enjoy this film.  This was a movie that was made for the fans, and you could tell that the production crew, the writers, director, and star Ryan Reynolds were all really big fans of the character.  They took an incredible amount of care to make sure that they were doing justice to the property. 


Part origin story, part established adventure; part action film, part love story, part comedy, Deadpool was everything you thought it would be.  That may be the only thing I have a problem with.  Let me explain.  I loved the film, loved the fight scene in the SUV; the fight on the highway bridge; the scene in the bar with Weasel (T.J. Miller) where they talk about how ugly Wade Wilson (Ryan Reynolds) is after the experiment; the fight with Colossus (voiced by Stefan Kapicic) and Negasonic Teenage Warhead (Brianna Hildebrand) against Angel Dust (Gina Carano); oh yes, I enjoyed them all.  I enjoyed them in the leaked footage, in any of the numerous trailers, commercials and viral clips that I saw and then I saw them in the movie.  Again.  My biggest complaint about Deadpool was that it felt like I had seen 2/3 of the movie because of the extremely heavy social media push it was receiving.  Fortunately there were the “Wade” scenes that weren’t action filled that I hadn’t seen that made up a very good part of the film.


Lots of action, some blood and guts, lots of humour and lots of fourth wall breaking were exactly what this R-rated comic book movie needed to be true to it’s source material and to it’s fans.  The story was very good, and not just “very good for a comic book movie” good.  There were heroes, cameos, fights, jokes, and even a very big overreaching love story between Wade and Vanessa (Morena Baccarin) who he fears he cannot be with after being disfigured.  Yes, there was a lot of violence in it, and some gore, but it wasn’t overly done, you were more paying attention to Deadpool slicing, stabbing and shooting the bad guys than you were to the bloody aftermath he would leave on the ground.  The fights and stunts were exceptionally fun.  Lots of great nods to the Marvel comic universe, and even the MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) as there is a scene that takes place on one of the crashed SHIELD helicarriers from Captain America: Winter Soldier.  There are only a few comic book movies that I personally think have gotten it absolutely right, Dredd was one, and now there’s Deadpool.


Bottom Line: Great cameo by Stan Lee, he joked that he was disappointed that he didn’t get to be on the set longer for it.  If you’ve seen it, you’ll understand the joke.  Also, a great “after the credits” scene, which makes me wonder, was Ferris Bueller the first movie with an after the credits scene?

Posted on 16-07-05, in 4.5 Star, Comic Book Movies, Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

